Out of Stock
Limelight 2-Person Tent
4.5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Limelight 2-Person Tent is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_12, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_220039, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marmot
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
Out of Stock
Limelight 2-Person Tent
4.5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Limelight 2-Person Tent is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2021, m_6, d_12, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_220039, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marmot
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 0ms
  • reviews, product
$269.00
Afterpay
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale

This item cannot be exchanged or returned. Valid while supplies last. All sales final.

This item is currently not available
$269.00
Afterpay
Final Sale: may not be returned or exchanged
Final Sale

This item cannot be exchanged or returned. Valid while supplies last. All sales final.

This item is currently not available

 Free 3-day shipping and free returns on all orders*    Details

 Backed by Marmot's Lifetime Warranty


Show More

Product Details

Features
  • Zone Pre-Bend Construction Creates Vertical Walls, More Roomy Sleeping Area and Greater Head Room
  • One Super-Sized Double Door and Rear D Shaped Door with Two Vestibules
  • Lamp Shade Pocket Securely Holds Your Headlamp to Provide Ambient Light
  • Footprint Included
  • Strategic Clip Placement Provides Larger Interior Volume
  • Seam Taped Full Coverage Fly with Vents
  • Seam Taped Catenary Cut Floor
  • Color Coded "Easy Pitch" Clips and Poles
  • Interior Pockets for Small Gear Organization
  • Jingle-Free Nylon Zipper Pulls
  • DAC Press-Fit Poles Main Poles/Velocity Aluminum 7000 Ridge Pole
Description
Bound to be your new favorite home away from home, the Limelight 2-Person Tent embraces simplicity and straightforward design. Its vertical walls allow for plenty of sleeping space, plus the strategic clip placement provides more interior volume for stretching out. If rain clouds move in, color-coded “easy pitch” clips, poles, and fly make for an easy set-up, and the seam-taped, catenary-cut floor prevents pooling. Protect your investment by using the included footprint. One super-sized door offers easy access, while two vestibules hold all your camping gear. After an epic day of adventuring, tuck a headlamp into the lampshade pocket for ambient light at night.
Specifications
  • Packed Weight: 5 lbs 10 oz (2550g)
  • Minimum Weight: 5 lbs 2 oz (2325g)
  • Fast Fly Weight: 3lbs 5oz (1506g)
  • Packed Size: 20.5 x 7.5 in | 51 x 17.8 cm
  • Peak Height: 43in
  • Floor Area: 33 sq ft, 3.1 sq m
  • Vestibule Area: 11 sq ft, 5.5 sq ft | 1 sq m, 0.5 sq m
  • Footprint Included: Yes
  • Number of Doors: 2
  • Number of Poles: 3
  • Number of Vestibules: 2
  • Seasons: 3-season
  • Main Canopy Fabric: 68d 100% Polyester Taffeta 1800mm F/R
  • Secondary Canopy Fabric: 40d 100% Polyester No-See-Um Mesh F/R
  • Floor Fabric: 70d 100% Polyester Taffeta 2000mm F/R
  • Fly Fabric: 68d 100% Polyester Taffeta 1500mm F/R
  • Pole Material: DAC Pressfit / Velocity HD
  • Footprint Material: 68d 100% Polyester Taffeta 190T 2000mm F/R
  • Style Number: 27930
Product Instructions
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just do it I absolutely love this tent! Perfect for sleeping with the fly off and star gazing while camping or backpacking. I do wish both sides of the tent opened the same-one opens almost 360 and the other is just about 180, not sure why but it would be dope if they both opened 360. Also wish there was a canopy up top to hold things and the upper side pockets were more user friendly-they are slanted so it’s really kind of hard to hold anything in there. There are great pockets on the bottom inner sides of the tent that are meant to hold the screens when keeping it open where mosquitoes must not be a thing. Overall, this is my favorite tent thus far and highly recommend it! Very large for 2 backpackers. Giant vestibules.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Limelight 2-person tent The fit and finish on this tent is just a little off and not what I expect from Marmot. I have had the Limelight 3-person tent for a few years and spent over 200 days in it. The 2-person is not made as well. The location of the grommets on the footprint are off, not allowing it to stretch taught, this also affects the setup. The rainfly seems to be cut wrong and sags/flops thru the door areas where the 3-person fit much tighter and straighter. This makes a big difference in windy conditions.
Date published: 2020-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely great The Sten is proved to be everything I wanted. Because of the way the side walls are perpendicular up for a while it's the first time I've ever had that my equipment didn't get wet in a very damp climate due to condensation. we were in a wet area wet ground lots of humidity and slight rain there was a lot of condensation on the fly but there was nothing wet on the inside because of the the perpendicular side walls. in the large doors made it absolutely great to be able to get into your tent without dragging a lot of dirt and mud inside. I love this tent.
Date published: 2018-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to setup, easy to break down, easy to pack I used my new tent on the Buffalo River Trail and it was great! I had to set it up in the dark because we got to our spot a little late. It was simple and quick to assemble. The second night it rained and I was dry and comfortable. I used a stuff sack instead of the supplied tent bag, and was able to get all the fabric in the small stuff sack, with the tent stakes and poles lashed to side of my pack. This was a great investment and I recommend for it weekend warriors, hikers and backpackers.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roomy for a 2P! I use this tent for motocamping and it has served me well. Great wet weather performance and also has great ventilation with the extra mesh. Even used it for desert camping with no fly for great night sky viewing. Fast up and down on extended trips where speed of setup and breakdown can make HUGE differences in being a happy motocamper.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Craftsmanship Our youth group recently went camping at Big Bend Ranch State Park, TX and this tent performed flawlessly. Easy to erect, lots of room and when tied down properly will remain standing even in 83 mile an hour winds and yes you read that correctly, 83 mile an hour winds and this tent didn't even budge. However; there were a couple of roofs blown off houses further down the canyon. Because of how this tent performed we are going to purchase additional Limelight tents as wind is always an issue in the region know as Big Bend Texas.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and weatherproof I bought this tent for a six-day trek in Patagonia, where it held up admirably to strong winds, occasional pouring rain, and freezing temperatures. It was well ventilated, easy to set up and plenty big for a pair of grown men thanks to the pole design (ridge pole + knees at all four corners). The 68-denier fly and floor are durable and weatherproof, and the high inner walls keep out drafts on blustery nights. The Limelight is heavier than many (more expensive) backpacking tents, so it wouldn't be ideal for one person. But this is a trade-off for greater comfort and durability. Divided between two backpackers, the weight is manageable and the spaciousness much appreciated. As other reviewers have noted, the ridge pole is longer than the others when broken down. I resolved this by strapping it to the side of my pack, but Marmot probably ought to divide the ridge pole into three short sections rather than two long ones to make future iterations of the Limelight more compact. Couple of points about the rainfly. First, it was hard to get the base of the fly completely taut at the vestibules, which may slightly annoy certain OCD people (like myself). Second, the fly doesn't extend as close to the ground as it probably could, which may allow more wind-driven rain/snow/dust/cold under the fly if you find yourself testing the limits of "three-season" use. But all these can be considered minor issues for a shelter that costs ~$200, weighs less than six pounds and didn't budge during nearly a week in one of the windiest regions on earth. Overall I found this tent to be an excellent value.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing tent even in high wind and rain! I’ve had this tent for a few years now and this past weekend had it on a trip down to Arizona. We expected a little rain but we’re surprised by about 14 hours of heavy rain and winds with gusts around 50mph. The tent held up beyond any of my expectations and kept myself and my gear completely dry!
Date published: 2020-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable, durable, lightweight I have a few tents, this has been and remains to be my go-to for 80%+ of my outings. From dank forest to sunny, sandy beach and everywhere in between, the Limelight 2 has been and remains my favorite. Caught in a downpour, or hot dusty and dryland, set up is ALWAYS a snap! The tent's utility is on par or exceeds any I have used remains dry in rain and comfortable in heat. It's spacious enough for two with gear. I can't recommend enough.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality for the price I bought this tent for an extended backpacking trip -- looking for a sturdy 2-person tent that was not too heavy (and not too pricey). This has more than lived up to my expectations. It is a very solid tent that it not too heavy (and not too pricey) and has performed well in the full range of weather over 5 years of heavy-duty backpacking.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around great tent A nice upgrade from our Marmot Aspen 2P in that the sleeping zone has been enlarged without adding weight to the tent.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 3rd Marmot tent and it's a great 2P shelter. My first Marmot tent was the current Limelight 3P bought a couple of years ago for backpacking with my 2 sons. Love the tent. But one kid moved to LA and the other doesn't want to backpack. Sadly, the 3P tent is just too heavy for one person. So last summer I picked up the Tungsten 1P which cut my tent weight in half and was a really inexpensive solution for solo trips. I love that tent too. It did fine for me in a gentle rain one night and was easy to set up or carry inside my pack. I actually kept my pack inside with my 6'0" 215lb frame that night and it wasn't bad in the 1P tent. I was on bare muddy ground and I didn't want a muddy pack in the morning. But I found myself lusting after the roominess of the Limelight 3P. So this summer (2018) I looked around for a 2 person tent so I could bring my pack inside on a regular basis and have a little more room to change clothes or move around if I'm stuck in the tent all day. I looked at a bunch of brands as well as the Tungsten 2P, the Tungsten 2P UL, and the Limelight 2P. I ended up buying the Limelight 2P and got it a couple of days ago. Having owned the Limelight 3P, there were no surprises. The internal volume is fantastic for a 2P tent. Less weight would be great but I'm willing to trade some weight for the durability of 68D polyester vs 20D polyester or 15D nylon. The only complaint I have is that I weighed the tent in both the max weight and min weight configurations that Marmot publishes and the Marmot published weight is about 10 ounces optimistic for the max weight. As the tent came out of the box as packaged by the factory it weighs 6 lbs 4 oz. That's on a scale with 1 gram accuracy up to a max of 17.5 lbs or 8 Kg. That's a big discrepancy in the published weight. C'mon guys, be honest about the weight. Am I gonna send the Limelight 2P back because of the weight? No way. I love the internal volume, the durability, the set up, and those 2 huge doors. This is a very livable tent. It's the most livable design I've found, period. Especially if you set up in a "base camp" for a few days and day hike out from a fixed camp site. Also, the protection in this tent is way above average. Driving horizontal rain is NOT going to make it into this tent. At the same time, it has plenty of mesh and will breathe about as well as a double wall tent can. The solid wall to mesh ratio is such that this tent can make it pretty far into the shoulder seasons of early spring and late fall in New England where I live and handle some cold weather better than an ultralight tent with tons of mesh. The polyester body and fly mean no stretch or sagging when it's raining and polyester will hold up better over time with exposure to UV radiation. All that stuff are the reasons this tent weighs more than some ultralight competitors that also cost double the price. For me, the value, protection, and durability is worth the extra weight. Everyone will have their own priorities. So now I have myself covered for solo, 2 person, or 3 person trips as well as non backpacking camping. I always research the entire market before I buy but somehow I keep coming back to Marmot every time.
Date published: 2018-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Designed Tent We just bought a second Limelight tent, so we have two for our larger backpacking trips. While not the lightest tent, it is so well designed and roomy that we don't mind it not being featherlight. The short vertical walls and large vestibules make for a large area to spread out gear and ourselves for a comfortable night's sleep in the backcountry.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great choice Loved the space inside the tent -- so much room! Also, the two doors are awesome. Love the choices there. Due to the nature of the poles, the fly was a little wonky, but totally weather tight. Wish the stakes that came with the tent were a little more burley, but that's an easy replacement. I would absolutely buy this again.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Packed size larger than stated One of the tent poles measures ~23'. So that makes it physically impossible to pack it down to 18'. It's a big difference of 5-6 inches when packed.. so if you're looking for something portable, this might not be the best choice. Please correct the specs!!!
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bicycle Tour Tent I used the Limelight on a bicycle tour across British Columbia in the summer of 2017. It was a fabulous piece of gear; very easy to put up [sometimes in a hurry ... rainstorms], and take down. Very roomy and good vestibules. I accidentally put a gash in it with a knife and sadly disposed of it, at the end of the summer. Plan to buy the new model this summer [2019]. The new Limelight is somewhat different and obviously roomier.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High & Dry I purchased this tent mainly for motorcycle camping. The first trip out was a four day ride through the High Rockies and Western Slope of Colorado. As my luck would have it - it rained constantly. So waterproof... check. I stayed high and dry on even the strongest of downpours. Set-up and break-down are breeze - the hub makes it a snap. Goes up in in 3 to 5 minutes depending on if you're drinking whiskey or beer. Coming down is about the same. Plenty of room for one person plus some gear. It's light and packs down pretty small - even with the footprint in the sack. Which brings me to one of my two cons. The stuff sack is too big for the tent. While yes, it's easy to get it in the bag - it's about 6" too long and about 1.5" too large in diameter. I had to use straps to tighten it up and roll up the extra material to keep it from dangling and getting caught in a wheel. Feel free to send me a smaller stuff sack Marmot ; ) The other con I found was the straps on the footprint are a bit too long and its grommets don't line up to the grommets of the tent. So when you pick up the tent to move it or shake it out, the footprint stays on the ground and won't fasten to the tent. Other than that - it's a solid tent.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Tent I did considerable research before purchasing this tent. I was looking for a quality 3-season tent that could be used for both backpacking and car camping, and also provide sufficient room for two adults, or one adult and one medium-sized dog. This tent is the perfect fit for my needs. Although a little heavy for prolonged backpacking, it's worth the couple extra pounds for peace of mind. One person can set it up in about 4 minutes, and breaking it down is equally fast. It's pre-bent pole configuration really does maximize interior space, and everything from the doors to the interior pockets and hooks were well thought out. The mesh canopy allows for great ventilation and reduced condensation, and the fly fits like a glove and works extremely well. The two vestibules provide enough space to keep your gear dry, and the inclusion of a footprint just makes it all that much better of a value. My only suggestion for anyone considering this tent is to purchase some additional (quality) stakes and guy rope if/when needed. I recently spent two very wet and windy days in the Colorado high country and this tent performed flawlessly. You can easily spend more for a tent, but for the money you'd be hard pressed to find one with better value. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2017-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winner!!! Still Dry in 60+ MPH Wind and HVY Rain Withstood 60+ mph winds through a tornado and thunderstorm warning with extreme rain for over the span of two nights and we never got wet at all. Worth every penny. Also very spacious for a two person tent. Absolutely love the double vestibules.
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service I purchased the 2016 2 person limelight and have been satisfied. However, the brow pole came in 2 sections which makes it much longer than the other poles when collapsed. This makes it difficult to fit in my bicycle panniers and tent pole pocket on my backpack. I contacted Marmot and they said they make it in 3 sections now! I said I'd like to order a replacement. When I asked how much they said it was no charge! Now it fits in my bike panniers and backpack perfectly. Thank you Marmot!
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tent for price and space This is a great tent! I’ve used it on a short backpacking trip and a 40+ mile canoe camping trip already and it’s been perfect. I know it may be a little heavier for backpacking if you’re not splitting it compared to some others but the extra livability and price (comes with footprint) is tough to beat. I’m using it solo for the most part so it is more than enough room. I prefer the extra space and durability as I’m not doing any extreme through hikes and I don’t mind the extra pound or 2. Part of the weight comes down to the sturdy rain fly that will absolutely keep you dry. I plan on using this for some car camping as well. This tent is a great all around we as long as you understand the size and how to keep some gear in vestibules. I even plan on having a dog or 2 for the next trip (1 40lbs Belgian sheepdog and 1 corgi)
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The rainfly leaked I purchased this tent a month ago to replace an old tent for an upcoming camping trip. The first night using this tent was great. Good weather, loved the doors and the open feel to the design. It was easy to set up. The second night it rained pretty hard and the rain fly leaked. Granted, there was alot of rain and it kept most of the rain out, but my sleeping bag and some of my things were wet. A brand new tent should not leak. I am returning it.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s been great Had this for years now - super easy set up, very sensible and well crafted. Only recently did the clear window separate, which may not be repairable. Otherwise, fantastic purchase and would do so again. I’ve experienced great value from this tent.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great Tent, Except in Extended Sunlight Great tent for camping. We really liked the ease of setup. However, my kids decided to spend the summer sleeping outside in it, and the rainfly was completely shredded by the time school started. Our other tents didn't suffer the same damage. At seventy bucks to replace, that isn't cheap. The tent is probably fine for shorter periods or if you take it down every day, but this does raise questions about long term durability in sunny parts of the country.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Heavy and leaky I bought this tent over a year ago. I had issues with the waterproofing finish being tacky to the touch. Marmot customer service was a nightmare. I ended up exchanging the tent at a store instead. The new tent leaks, water dripping on my forehead and all over my sleeping bag. I bought this for backpacking and it’s pretty heavy. This might be good for car camping but I do not recommend for backpacking or harsh weather.
Date published: 2020-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spacious and reliable I have had one of these for years and have never had problems with it. It keeps me and my gear dry and is plenty spacious for two people.
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tent Really lightweight and durable tent. I used it immediately on a rainy day in Alaska and it was awesome. Hung it up to spray it clean, let it dry and packed it up. Great experience overall
Date published: 2017-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the room I've had my Limelight 2 for 4 years now. I love everything about it except for the weight and pack size which makes it difficult to use for anything longer than a wknd hike/camp. If shared with a friend who can share the weight it would be fine. I sleep alone, so for longer hikes I take my hammock. It is rock solid with an abundance of room and features for one or two .
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tent with great features Bought this tent a few months ago and it camps like a dream. The extra vertical pole lengths at the bottom really add a sense a space inside the tent. Fits 2 adults perfectly. Has great features like a opaque flap that diffuses your flashlight and nice mesh organizer at the bottom. This is a premium tent that’s affordable and I hope to use for a while.
Date published: 2020-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spacious This is my initial review. I picked up this tent today and went to a local park to set it up, to make sure everything is in place and there are no damages. First of all, I owned Limelight for past 7-8 years, it worked fine for many trips, car camping, back country camping and quick overnighters. My old tent started falling apart and it was time for new one and I went with new Limelight 2. This tent is so spacious that it almost has that luxurious feeling. I am 191 cm (6.3") and i can sit inside the tent without my head touching the ceiling, not only in the middle of tent but anywhere. I am glad new version of Limelight has two doors and 2 vestibules, that is also an improvement. As for weight and size, this is no ultralight tent and if you are going to complain about it, just buy something lighter and more expensive. Personally I have used my old Limelight 2 on solo trips so I could put my equipment inside the tent and I had no issues with the weight. Now to the poles, pre bent poles are the reason this tent is so spacious but there is a price to pay for it. Those poles are pain in the rear to pack and cross pole when folded is longer than than the rest of it. Thats about the only thing that i wish it was different. Two storage pockets inside tent are on two opposite sites (length wise), two people will sleep in this tent facing same direction and it would be nicer if pockets were on the same side so each person has one pocket at the arms reach. Other than that first impression is good, i am really impressed with the space.
Date published: 2017-09-08
  • y_2021, m_6, d_12, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_SP_220039, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_marmot
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • reviews, product